Past Grand Marshals

The Luther Burbank Rose Parade hasn’t missed a year since 1950 and has been honoring Grand Marshals since 1952. Here is a list of Grand Marshals through history.

1952 & 53 H.W. Jacobs
1954 Lt. Gov. Powers
1955-61 H. W. Jacobs
1962 Gov. E.G. “Pat” Brown
1963 Timmie & Lassie
1964 Sen. Barry Goldwater
1965 Actor Chil Wills
1966 “Mayor Art” Finley
1967 Charles Schulz
1968 Rep. Don Clausen
1969 Dutch Flohr
1970 Sheriff John Ellis
1971 Disablied Veterans of Vietnam
1972 Frank P. Belotti, Meade Nordyke & Hugh B. Codding
1973 Local Vietnam Prisoners of War
1974 Ig Vella 1975 Guanella Brothers Softball Team
1976 Marge Stevenson, Art Volkerts, Mark Faton, Rev. Robert Schlager
1977 Mitchell Soso and Family
1978 Helen Putnam
1979 Evan Jeffries
1980 Ben & Gladys Barnes
1981 Obert Pedersen
1982 Henry Trione
1983 Jack Brandenburg, Ting Guiggiana, Ray Huntington
1984 Gaye LeBaron
1985 Charles Schulz
1986 Sonoma County Fair Officials
1987 Ralph Wareham and the Campions
1988 Gene Benedetti
1989 Bob & Lois Trowbridge
1990 Benny Friedman
1991 Bonnie Bergen, CCI
1992 Snoopy
1993 Harris Barton, Bob St. Clair, Joe Garcia
1994 The Keegan Family
1995 Julia Stamps
1996 Crusher, The Abominable Sonoman
1997 Jim Grady, KSRO Morning Voice
1998 Mark Ihde, retiring Sonoma County Sheriff
1999 Luther Burbank
2000 Snoopy and the Gang
2001 Clo the Cow
2002 Local Heroes
Santa Rosa Fire Department Chief Tony Pini
Santa Rosa Police Department Chief Michael Dunbaugh
Sonoma County Sheriff’s Department Sheriff Jim Piccinini
California Highway Patrol Captain Larry O’Shea
Sonoma Life Support James Ridenour
2003 Evert Person
2004 Olympic Athletes
Jim DeLaney (1948 shot put)
Gail Roper (1952 swimming)
Barry Weitzenberg (1968 & 1972 water polo)
Jenna Johnson (1984 swimming)
Shannon Hartnett (2002 bobsled)
George DeCargouet (Special Olympics track & field)
2005 Former Santa Rosa City Mayor Sharon Wright
2006 Woodstock
2007 Food Network Star Guy Fieri
2008 Henry Trione and The Unicycler
2009 Brook Tauzer
2010 Zoe Valrey
2011 Tamayo Family and La Tortilla Factory
2012 Gong Family and G&G Supermarkets
2013 The Campions
2014 Interim Fire Chief Anthony Sossner, Sgt. Paul Hoffman, Police Chief Hank Schreeder & Sherriff – Coroner Steve Freitas
2015 Dr. Frank Chong, President Santa Rosa Junior College
2016 Joan Lunden, Former ‘Good Morning America’ Anchor and Breakaway From Cancer Ambassador